Violin II part from Come To The Opera - Mozart, W.A.. - Priests' Chorus from Die Zauberflote - arr, for Vioce & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

W.A. Mozart
3 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

PRIESTS� CHORUS FROM DIE ZAUBERFLOTE First performance 30 September 1791, Vienna (Theater auf der Wieden)


MUSIC: W. A. MOZART (1756 1791)

In the last years of his life Mozart became an ardent Freemason and in 1791 the year of his death his health gave cause for concern. Although he never renounced the Catholic Church, the Masonic influence was all too prevalent in several works including the opera Die Zauberflote, which is an imaginative portrayal of Masonic ritual and symbolism, and the �Maurer� cantata. Mozart�s last opera is set in Egypt, and Sarastro the high priest of Isis and Osiris conducts the hieratic aspects and the series of trials for Tamino and Pamina, being a prerequisite before a marriage licence is granted. The Priests� chorus �O Isis und Osiris� is an evocation to the God�s and is intended as an introduction to the lovers� trial by fire and water.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.