Soprano part from Come To The Opera - Puccini, G. - Humming Chorus from Madama Butterfly - arr, for Vioce & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Puccini, G.
3 minutes
Classical music

GIACOMO PUCCINI (b. Lucca, Dec. 22, 1858 � d. Brussels, Nov.29, 1924)

The Puccini name enjoyed a considerable reputation in Italy for more than a century, for Giacomo Puccini was descended from a fine pedigree of musicians beginning with his great-great-grandfather, Giocomo (1712-81), and all his ancestors in the direct line were musicians of prominence, mainly in the domain of ecclesiastical music: Antonio (1747-1832), Domenico (1771-1815), and Michele his father (1813-64) who was organist at Lucca where �GIACOMO ANTONIO DOMENICO MICHELE SECONDO MARIA PUCCINI (his full name was a long one) was born in 1858. He entered the Milan Conservatory in 1880 where he was very fortunate to study with an excellent teacher of composition, Antonio Bazzini and later he came under the influence of Amilcare Ponchielli, composer of La Gioconda.

Madama Butterfly

The first performance of Madama Butterfly took place at La Scala, Milan, on the 17th of February 1904. Set in Nagasaki the opera is allegedly based on a true incident. An American naval officer, Pinkerton, has persuaded a Japanese geisha, Butterfly, to marry him. His duties however take him away from Butterfly and when he eventually returns after an absence of three years it is in the company of his American wife. Butterfly refuses to believe the infidelity and betrayal but as the realisation of the truth becomes apparent the grief-stricken and broken-hearted woman kills herself.

The Humming Chorus is sung as the moon light streams into her bedroom while she and her child sleep.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.