Violoncello part from Come To The Opera - Handel, G.F.- Alcina,Chorus of enchanted islanders - arr, for Chamber Chorus & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

2 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

HANDEL: Alcina, Chorus of enchanted islanders

The first performance of Handel�s opera Alcina took place at Covent Garden in London on the 16th of April 1735. During this period Handel wrote three operas, which used librettos drawn from Ariosto�s Orlando furioso. This chorus with its gavotte rhythm is very similar to the final chorus of the work, and as Handel composed two completely different versions of this chorus it may not have been used in the actual performance. The similarity of its main theme to the first movement of his F major Organ Concerto op. 4 no. 4 which made it�s appearance in the same year as Alcina is indisputable, and his manuscript shows signs of haste with many discrepancies in the harmonic framework which is very uncharacteristic of Handel. Added to this is the high tessitura of the tenor part.

As the curtain raises the captives of Alcina who is an enchantress and entices heroes into her domain to become her lovers, (after which she changes them into rocks, streams, trees or wild beasts) sing after dramatically witnessing her seduction and seeing her palace appear from the middle of a mountain.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.