Violoncello part from Come To The Opera - Mozart, W.A.- Idomeno - Voyagers' Chorus - arr, for Chamber Chorus & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

W.A. Mozart
3 minutes
Classical music

Idomeneo, Re di Creta: drama per musica in three acts, libretto by Gianbattista Varesco, music by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791), premiere 29 January 1781 at the Hoftheater in Munich.

The protagonists: Idomeneo (tenor), King of Crete; Idamante (mezzo-soprano or tenor), his son; Ilia prisoner on Crete, daughter of King Priam of Troy; Elettra (soprano), refugee on Crete, daughter of Agamemnon; Arbace (tenor), the King�s confidant; the High Priest of Neptune (tenor); Neptune�s oracle (bass).

In 1780 the Elector of Bavaria invited Mozart to compose another opera for Munich in the Italian opera seria genre, which is an extended, tragic or serious opera in contradistinction to the comic or buffa type. Altogether he composed five-opere serie, the first ( Mitridate, re di Pento) in 1770, and the last (La Clemenza di Tito) in 1791. Mozart used Giambattista Varesco�s libretto, which was based on the French Idomenee of Campra, and when he travelled to Munich in early November a large proportion of the score was completed. One of the novelties of the score was that Horns and Trumpets in some sections were �muted� something that was unknown in Munich, so they had to be copied from those sent from Salzburg. Present at the premiere where his father Leopold and the Elector who was delighted with the opera and expressed his surprise that �such great things were tucked away in so small a head.�

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Gerald Manning. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.