Oboe (Part 2) part from Bluey Brink - Woodwind Quartet

2 minutes

"There once was a shearer by name Bluey Brink A devil for work and a terror for drink He could shear a full hundred each day without fear And drink without winking four gallons of beer"

A traditional Australian Folksong which has several tune variations. I chose to arrange this version of the tune for woodwind quartet because of its haunting nature. The arrangement is for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet and Bassoon. The Flute part would be more effectively played with two flute players; in 8vas from section E. The Oboe part is also available for another clarinet and the Bassoon part for Bass Clarinet. If you use this quartet, please let me know how its goes!

The same tune is also used in my Australian Folksong Medley No. 4 for concert band…

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Brendan Elliget. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Brendan Elliget has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.