Violin part from Farewell Fantasia in C Minor

Jordi Vives i Batlle
6 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

I’ve sometimes read historical novels filled with quests of great import in faraway realms, and with a beloved at home praying for my safe return. (I can’t help but identify with the hero of such tales.) Saying farewell to my beloved before the adventure begins has always felt particularly poignant. To me, Jordi Vives i Batlle’s “Farewell Fantasia” portrays many of the emotions of such a farewell, and when I first heard this piece, I knew I wanted to perform it.

My friend Jordi graciously collaborated with me as I adapted the piece to be played on a violin instead of clarinet, and even more graciously has now dedicated the piece to me. I shall be premiering the work in Cedar City, Utah, in the autumn of 2001. His original version for Clarinet and Piano is at Matthew Scott Phillips has done a very different (and very lovely) arrangement of this same piece, which can be found at

Should you wish to print this arrangement, please use the Score as your piano part. If you’re fortunate enough to play a 5-string violin like mine, use the 5-String part; for a normal violin use the Violin part instead. (Eleven notes are changed in the Violin part to keep it within range.) For performance rights, etc., please contact the composer:

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Virgil Barstad. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Virgil Barstad has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.