Horn 3A part from Toccata and Fugue in D Minor (BWV 565)

J. S. Bach
9 minutes
Classical music

This was originally arranged for the Denis Brain Memorial Concert that took place at the RAM, London in the 80's. The line up of horn players was fantastic, Frank Lloyd leading the "A" team and Ifor James leading the B team with Tony Halstead on horn 4B, the lowest part! Others that made the line up were Michael Thompson, then principal of the RPO and other colleagues from the RPO all with Alan Civil conducting. The octet performed it live in front of Denis' wife and the event was recoded, though sadly I have not got a copy! Please note that the lower horn parts do go outside the accepted range for French Horns but in the hands of experts they are definitely playable. It should also be noted that the notation is to modern standard - what you see is exactly the pitch to play.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Raymond Smith. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Raymond Smith has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.