Viola part from Purcell Chaconne from King Arthur

4 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

King Arthur, subtitled "The British Worthy", is an opera in five acts, with a libretto by John Dryden and music by Henry Purcell. The opera was first performed at the Queen's Theatre, Dorset Garden, London, in early summer of 1691. The plot is based on King Arthur's battles between the Saxons and the Britons, rather than the legends of Camelot (although Merlin does make an appearance). The action is more in the mode of pantomime than drama, including such characters as Cupid, Honour, and Venus plus the more Nordic gods Woden, Thor, and Freya. The tale centres greatly on Arthur's endeavours to recover his fianc´┐Że, the blind Cornish Princess Emmeline, who has been abducted by his arch-enemy, the Saxon King Oswald of Kent.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Paul Wood. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Paul Wood has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.