Oboe part from Horn Quintet

W. A. Mozart
13 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

This delightful chamber work for solo horn, violin, two violas and cello has been a favourite of our wind group for years and is presented here as a wind quintet. Double-stoppings have been omitted, and the pitch of the instruments adjusted slightly in places. Apart from this the parts are reasonably faithful to the original instruments, and, more importantly, the piece retains its light texture and vivacity, while introducing tone colours different from the original. This makes the horn less of a contrast with the ensemble, and the key to presenting this music is a combined effort where each has a prominent role. Beware the tempo of the last movement. I have deliberately left in a tempo change some may see as an error, but 120 is just a bit fast to make this work from the top, though you may consider 108 a bit slow. It's great fun. NMB.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Nic Bullivant. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Nic Bullivant has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.