flute part from Bach, J.S.: Flute Sonata in D (BWV 1028) from the viola da gamba sonata.

14 minutes
Classical music

A new flute sonata by Bach! At least, I am unaware of any flute transcription of this lovely viola da gamba sonata; though William Bennett played his (unpublished, I believe) arrangement in a memorably beautiful performance at the Wigmore Hall in 1985. I have dedicated this arrangement to the memory of Richard William Lee (born 1941), who died of cancer in his twenties. With his death we lost one of the great flautists. He was a pupil of Geoffrey Gilbert; but I knew him at school in London in the 1950s, where he was already a superb flautist and recorder player and rapidly becoming an expert on baroque music. He also played the guitar, and made his own treble viol, which he occasionally played in the school orchestra. Subsequently, he played the recorder with David Munrow. I knew him for only a few short years.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Douglas Brooks-Davies. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Douglas Brooks-Davies has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.