2ndTrumpet part from Renaissance Music for Brass: "Pavan Ferrarese and Galliarde" for Brass Quartet

Pierre Phalese
3 minutes
Classical music

Pierre Phalese was, along with Tielman Susato, one of the first music publishers, with a collection of dance tunes published in 1572. Pavanes and Galliardes are often paired as in this and were played consecutively.

The pavan should be played in a very stately manner, and the galliarde is quite lively, with a strong emphasis on the downbeat in each bar. Where there are three quarter notes (chochets) in a row, play the first long and the 2nd and 3rd lightly. In other words, make it dance.

There is a small mistake in the trombone part, in bar 61. The crochet on the third beat should be a "G" instead of "F". Sorry.

Have fun. The dynamic markings are strictly editorial as there are no indications of instrumentation, dynamics or much of anything else in the original.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by David G. Barton. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com David G. Barton has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.