Viola part from A Night at the Ballet - Offenbach, J. - 'Can-Can' from 'Orpheus in The Underworld' - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Jacques Offenbach
3 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Jacques Offenbach (b Cologne, 20 June 1819; d Paris, 5 October 1880) Can-Can from ´┐ŻOrpheus in The Underworld´┐Ż.

Any dance that is intended for the theatre (instead of for the ballroom) can, and is loosely termed a Ballet. The older operas often had Ballets in them, as a change from the acting and singing, so sometimes the music is specially composed, and sometimes it is music that has not been composed for the purpose of the Dance. Jacques Offenbach was a theatrical impresario, and in 1855 he took a tiny theatre just off the Champs-Elysees and renamed it the Theatre des Bouffes-Parisiens, so he could indulge his passion and concentration to theatrical composition. The can-can (also spelt cancan, Can Can) is regarded today primarily as a music hall dance, performed by a chorus line of female dancers who wear costumes with long skirts, petticoats and black stockings, harking back to the fashions of the 1890s. The main features of the dance are the lifting up and manipulation of the skirts, with high kicking and suggestive, provocative body movements.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.