Violin II part from A Night at the Ballet - Ponchielli, A. - Dance Of The Hours from 'La Gioconda' - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Amilcare Ponchielli
3 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

The Dance of the Hours from the opera La Gioconda AMILCARE PONCHIELLI (1834-1886) The Dance of the Hours is a story within a story. The action of the opera stops as the dinner guests of the ruler of Venice watch a ballet. This music is heard in the third act of the opera. The ruler as an entertainment offers it for his guests. The dancers in the ballet through their movement tell the story of time. This is also a tale of the triumph of good over evil. The ballet has four parts: Dawn, Day, Evening, and Night. The light-hearted music Ponchielli composed for the Dance of the Hours is quite different from the serious music found in the opera. It is meant as a happy distraction from the story�s tragic events.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.