Concerto in B major for violin and orchestra, Op. 36 - III. Passacaglia

Full details...
page one of Concerto in B major for violin and orchestra, Op. 36 - III. Passacaglia

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This modern-classical 4-movement concerto for violin and orchestra was composed in 2009 and thoroughly revised in 2017. The 1st movement is a rather slow but moving cantilène built on two themes; in the middle section, in which the violin has to sing rather against than with the orchestra, these themes are developed to a climax; than after a loud gong hit, the music cools down again, with at about 7’00” the first theme returning mournfully in the solo violin followed by the flute. The 2nd movement is a marchlike burlesque scherzo. The 3rd movement consists of a slow passacaglia, in which 10 variations are built upon a bass-theme, and a cadenza, that forms a bridge to the finale. The 4rd (and final) movement is a fast rondo, with a swinging theme in 5/8. Please enjoy the digital performance in Sibelius 6 with Kontakt Player Gold. Kevin Riley, Musical Director of the Andover Light Orchestra, Composer, on the former SibeliusMusic website, about the 1st movement: "Warning, craftsman at work. After a haunting introduction Geert introduces a beautiful theme. Using his orchestrating skills to good effect. Back to the solo violin with thin accompaniment for a few bars then darkness returns (maybe a little too much timpani ?). The violin is like a voice trying to rise up from below. Fighting all the way. The horn fanfares a return of the main theme in a different set of musical clothes. Geert develops the theme using solo violin. We then have quite a long section where the orchestra comes to the fore in a restrained but beautiful way. The piece then drifts away, almost floating upwards, to a calm ending. Thanks for sharing this piece with us all Geert."

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Concerto in B major for violin and orchestra, Op. 36 - III. Passacaglia

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...