Home > Big band > Beat Suite #1: Desolation Angel

Beat Suite #1: Desolation Angel

Year of composition
Benjamin Sajo
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Jazz music
Big band
Instrumental parts
Not available

This piece is the first movement of my Beat Suite.

For some reason or another, the music of Bollywood is often played swing rhythm. Desolation Angel started with a desire to write a fusion tune inspired by modern Bollywood soundtracks, as well as an experiment in raw modal harmonies, open fifths, suspensions that are not as common in the standard swing style. I had a dream about some caravan in the middle of the Silk Road with a cargo of beautiful mysterious women, and I wanted to incorporate something along those lines. Then I did some personal research on the female deities of Mesopotamia, namely Ishtar and Inanna, goddesses of fertility whose legends are rife with toying with the hearts of mortals and destroying them, Inanna being known as the "Lady of the stars". But since they never had jazz back then, I've taken all of these Eastern concepts hoping to compose a tune that one might hear in a ritzy nightclub in Beirut or Bombay. Desolation Angel shares the same title as a book by Jack Kerouac, an American author of the 1940s-1950s Beat Generation. He and his fellow school of writers, Alan Ginsberg and William Burroughs and Gregory Corso, all shared a fascination with the East and its exoticism, and searching for enlightenment, either amongst others in the hustle and bustle of a city or, as with Kerouac, in complete solitude as a fire-watch in Washington State. Therefore, it is a companion piece for my other tune, Lotus Blues, where I wrote both tunes in general seclusion in the summer of 09 in Canada's Northwest Territories. Namaste ho!

Into the west as the sun sets Burning the sky hot in your eye. Fiery red hot as it gets. Waiting for the rest of my days the wind takes me far away from Harmonic ways, upon the road, I spend the beat nights without you. Desert trails of sand.

Jaded like the rest you will find as we grow apart Some loves they cannot last long A day a moon of honey kisses of doves.

Goddess made of stone, we were born under your protection, Raw Lips pray to thee for a kiss of crimson rhapsodies For the men of the world.

Once by a lake I was dreaming you had arrived; come to save me. When will you learn I’ll never come back?! Sultans, millionaires and the rest of them golden Majesties pay Diamond cash and our jewels sweet rubies violet and the rest in love. How can I refuse silk so fine, and fountains of perfume, sweet as wine? Gentlemanly talk and fanciful dining?

You can’t understand love like me, not so delicate with Champagne, chandeliers Goodbye, don’t even try! Beauty treats the girl rightly every guy with a smile and sigh Makes merrily by my side, oh goddess high! How kind a Lie! Finding for the rest of my nights the dreams dimming fainter, New days open doors to my life and lovers more! Lovers the more!

For extracted parts, send me an email and I can send them to you.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Benjamin Sajo. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Benjamin Sajo has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.