Beat Suite #2: Lotus Blues

Full details...
page one of Beat Suite #2: Lotus Blues

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This the second movement of my Beat Suite.

This composition was inspired by reading the literature of the Beat Poets of the 1950s, predominantly Jack Kerouac, the author of On the Road, Dharma Bums, Desolation Angel, and other novels and poetry. Plots aside, what struck me was his writing method of spontaneous prose, that forgoes grand scheming and pre-planning for direct translation from the mind to the pen to the paper. This composition was written like that, and developed organically over time with ideas developing from earlier ideas without knowing myself how it would end up. What Lotus is, is a soulful blues that eschews twelve-bar phrases for rich harmonies, unresolved shadings, and a dark woeful vibe that brings to mind the dark alleys and dives of a big, unforgiving city, which, to a modern Romantic, evoke ancient castles of black mystery and tempting evil.

"In the mist of lotus moons These were the lips held before you. The shade of your eyes, Dark as the tide in the shadows. Now that the words we had has ended I will weep the dreamless dark nights.

Who knew that I was just a girl, Waiting for a good man?

Clenching your hand to my heart, I never shared that we�d soon part. Holding me unto you Your cool touch was mine. True as golden news, Softer than blue hues.

How do I feel? Lost in the starlight. Dancing alone, young for a new life. My heart is not for breaking.

Before we say goodbye, tonight, Lets dance one more, dear. No harm as a last wish, To end this romance with a kiss."

Please email me regarding parts, and I’ll gladly prepare them whether by post or read-to-print PDFa

Score ID
Year of composition
Benjamin Sajo
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
Big band
Jazz music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Beat Suite #2: Lotus Blues

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...