Piano Quintet No.2: Darwin vs. Cremo

Full details...
page one of Piano Quintet No.2: Darwin vs. Cremo

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Piano Quintet No. 2: Darwin vs. Cremo is a discussion on the origins of life written in the British Parliamentary Debate Form. Darwin�s theory of Evolution, represented by the transformation of a Pentatonic scale through to an Octatonic scale using pitch split transformations, is contrasted by Cremo�s theory of Devolution, which is conversely represented by the transformations to Pentatonic, Whole Tone, and Octatonic scales employing Sean Kim�s compositional Technique of Interval Expansion and Compression. Through this debate the widely accepted theory of Evolution is challenged by a lesser known theory of Devolution, bringing to light new perspectives on not only where we came from, but also, perhaps more importantly, what we are. In a 2003 article, New Evidence Challenges Darwin�s Theory Best-selling Author Further Defies Evolutionist, Cremo�s theory is described as follows: �Cremo proposes that before we ask the question, "Where did human beings come from?� [We] should first contemplate, "What is a human being?" Cremo asserts that humans are a combination of matter, mind, and consciousness (or spirit). Human Devolution contains solid scientific evidence showing how a subtle mind element and a conscious self that can exist apart from the body have been systematically eliminated from mainstream science by a process of knowledge filtration. "Any time knowledge filtration takes place you can expect a great deal of resistance, criticism, and ridicule when it is exposed and challenged," says Cremo.�

In the final section of the debate, both sides conclude harmoniously on the facts that no one can deny: �Wherever we came from, we are here; whatever we are, we are.�

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
9 minutes
Large mixed ensemble
Modern classical music
Related scores

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Piano Quintet No.2: Darwin vs. Cremo

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...