Ascension Introit: Men of Galilee

Year of composition
Phillip Pennington Harris
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores
Peter Mass (revised 2011), I know that river which flows for ever (version with harp & cello), Mary had a Baby, Tintinnabula (Sonata), I Sing of a Maiden, I know that river which flows for ever, Advent Psalms (Year B), Litany of Saints for Ordinations, O sacrum convivium, Blessed are those / Beati qui ad cenam, Litany of Saints, Gloria (from the Missa Modalis), Father, make them holy (TTB), Missa Modalis, Versicles & Responses (1662) for Trebles (S) & Organ, Toccata Postlude on 'Veni Creator Spiritus', In paradisum (from Fauré Requiem), Fantasia: ’Pange lingua’, Versicles & Responses (1662) for Trebles (SS) & Organ, Alleluia (Gospel Acclamation), Ad Regias Agni Dapes (Easter) Version for SSAA Choir, Advent Alleluia, Stand up, friends!, The Spirit of God SATB, The Spirit of God TTB, Advent Entrance Antiphon: The Lord is coming/Veniet Dominus, Pater, sanctifica eos in veritate (TTB), Spiritus Domini super me SATB, Advent descant: Lo, he comes, Ad Regias Agni Dapes (Easter) (TTBB), Ave verum corpus: Hail to thee! true Body (8 part version), Tu es Petrus, Ave verum corpus: Hail to thee (SAB version), Never Weather-beaten Saile, Advent Entrance Antiphon: To you, my God/Ad te levavi, Capriol Suite arr. for 6 hands (Bransles), Invocations, Advent Entrance Antiphon: Christ our King is coming/Rex noster adveniet Christus, Spiritus Domini super me TTB, Advent Entrance Antiphon: A shoot will spring/Egredietur virga, Advent Psalms (Year A), Chaconne Mass, Godhead here in hiding (Adoro te devote), Beata es, Virgo Maria (TTB) and Salve Regina

'Men of Galilee' is a brief Introit for Ascension Day. It depicts the timeless moment of the Ascension, the disciples' amazement and the angels' rebuke (to us all) to stop staring into the sky after the ascended Christ. It is composed for SATB choir and organ.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Phillip Pennington Harris. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Phillip Pennington Harris has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.