Home > String quartet > Caprice - From BWV 826 — Partita No. 2 in C minor

Caprice - From BWV 826 — Partita No. 2 in C minor

Johann Sebastian Bach
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
Classical music
String quartet
Instrumental parts
Not available

This is an arrangement of Johann Sebastian Bachs Caprice or Capriccio from Partita II, originally for piano/harpsichord. The arrangement is for a string trio, and it features all 3 instruments heavily (violin, viola and cello). It doesn't differ from the piano part at all as - apart from the last 2 bars - it is all written in 3 parts. The last 2 bars involve two instruments playing chords. As the music doesn't differ from the piano part, it is a challenge to play, and is designed as a serious piece of baroque music. Towards the end of the final repeat at the end of the piece, for effect - at the players discretion - a slight rall or any way of ending the piece can be used, as often is when the piece is performed on piano or harpsichord. All dynamics are exactly the same as the piano part and the dynamics in most places are exactly the same for the 3 instruments.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Nick Walker. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Nick Walker has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.