Baroque Blue

Full details...
page one of Baroque Blue

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Baroque Blue was written for The London Contemporary Chamber Orchestra and was first performed at their 2010 workshop. The following programme note was presented to the workshop. "I discovered the LCCO call for scores soon after receiving a request for a large scale chamber work for the extraordinary combination of tuba, string quartet and piano. I already had a substantial notebook of music to discuss with the tuba player, and it was the rhythmic and blues flavoured material that seemed the most promising for a short piece for chamber orchestra. Thus using this material, and with the intention of giving the trumpet and trombone of your orchestra a degree of prominence, Baroque Blue was written. The theme introduced by the trumpet contains all the material for the composition. It is the motifs drawn from the theme that populate most of Baroque Blue. The motifs are 1)three rising notes (bar 2), 2)two falling fourths (bar 3), and 3) the rhythm of bar 9. Note also that that bar 5 is thje non-rhythmical retrograde of barn 3. The structure is in three parts. The first part (bars 11 to 57) is a frequently interupted perpetuum mobile constructed from the motifs. The second part (bars 58 to 80) consists of restatements of the theme with slight developments given to the trumpet and trombone. The third part is a repeat of the perpetuum mobile withn fewer interuptions. The third part is prefaced with a development section given to the woodwind (bars 81 to 88) and to solo violin, solo cello and piano bars (89 to 95)." If you need parts please borrow them from me rather than wasting another tree!

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Modern classical music
Related scores

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Baroque Blue

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...