The Elements (Percussion) - IV. Earth

Full details...
page one of The Elements (Percussion) - IV. Earth

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

�The Elements� is a four-movement percussion suite which depicts the four classical elements: Fire, Water, Wind, and Earth. The final movement, earth, begins with a bass soli which builds up to an earthquake! The rest of the movement is really just a celebration and a final push to the end (in retrospect, not reminiscent of earth at all). The mallet part from m.1 (where the entire ensemble enters) until m.38 is special to me because it is based off one of my first marching band sketches from when I first got Sibelius, from early high school.

The show was written for the 2009 Kapolei High School winterline. As with �Dance of the Storms,� I composed the front ensemble parts and came up with the concept of the show and my friend Frederick Mariano wrote the battery (drumline). The result was another rewarding experience for Fred and I as future educators and for the students.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
1 minute
Percussion ensemble
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of The Elements (Percussion) - IV. Earth

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...