F3 and F4 Finger Exercises for violin

Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument (Solo Violin)
Instrumental parts
Not available

F3 and F4 are two finger exercise invented by the great Hungarian violin teacher Tibor Varga. It is no accident that they sound like Bartok! They use all the combinations of tones and semitones in one position in a very logical manner. F3 is simply one finger following another while F4 is a combination of finger patterns (and should be learnt after F3 has been fully mastered). They should both be learnt from memory - the patterns are easily learnt - and ALL the fingers should be kept down. This is absolutely critical. It is best to start on 3rd string but they can to be played on all strings and at differing speeds. Learn slowly with very accurate intonation and concentrate on the finger action. When the exercise is finished it can be repeated one semitone higher "ad infinitum". Learn at the beginning with just one pattern to a bow repeated four times. When fluent you can then try twice to a bow and then X2 and X4 on the up bow at double speed. Generally X8 to a bow at speed is enough to fully warm up the left hand. Be careful not to overdue it!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Martin Butler. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Martin Butler has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.