Lento Doloroso (II)

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
Classical music
Solo Solo Violin + piano
Instrumental parts

Movement two, "Lento Doloroso," is a play on the season of Lent and the walk to the cross. The antiphon "Ave Regina Caelorum" appears alongside the hymn, "O Sacred Head Now Wounded" through a sequence of meditations on the death of Christ. The piano line plays the hymn in a condensed chordal form as well as laying out crucifixion lines throughout the piece. The violin line is intended to come from the viewpoint of the person who is confronted with the walk to the cross that Christ undertook. The piece culminates in musical painting of the crucifixion and concludes with the pounding of the nails.

page one of Lento Doloroso (II)ASALTTEXT

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Steven Kennedy. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.