Flute Sonata - 1. Poco andante e molto tranquillo

Full details...
page one of Flute Sonata - 1. Poco andante e molto tranquillo

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This piece was completed in June 2010, and is divided into three movements. My starting point for writing this work was a wish to explore a new mood and style, having recently composed a dissonant and austere piece, Piano Trio No. 2. After some further thought, I set about writing a calm and lyrical piece, the Sonata for Flute and Piano. I quickly found the instrumentation to be ideal for my musical intentions.

Despite using a much less abrasive tone, in the Sonata I have adopted a less restrictive and more experimental approach to tonality than before. The first and second movements, for instance, explore bitonality between two very distant keys �" A major and E flat major. A brief but violent passage halfway through the third movement features the collision of different tonalities, drawn from earlier musical material. In general, however, the specific tonal palette from which the musical material is drawn is used for the sake of harmonic consistency and thematic development.

The brief first movement begins with a cold and distant introduction from the piano, above which the flute sings a broad three-note motive that forms the basis of the musical material throughout the piece. The general mood is detached and withdrawn, with the dynamic usually remaining at pianissimo. The piano is more active than the flute throughout, and there is no sense of resolution at the movement�s quiet close.

This piece is dedicated to the flautist and friend Kim Falconer, and to the composer and established musician Hugh Fullarton, who has done much over the years to guide my musical development and to encourage me to continue composing.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Solo Flute + piano
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Flute Sonata - 1. Poco andante e molto tranquillo

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...