'Shorts' is a collection of fourteen miniatures for oboe, viola and cello, inspired by the occasional poems of W. H. Auden of the same name. The poems, often mere three-liners, are at times witty, profound, flippant, work-a-day or exquisitely crafted. I have tried to reflect something of this diversity in the music. Some of the miniatures last only a few seconds, others approaching half a minute. Like the poems, Shorts could be "dipped into" or performed in succession.

This is a full score - it would not be practical, except perhaps in a couple of the pieces, to produce separate parts as cues would be so frequently needed as to render a set of parts virtually identical to this full score.

Although conceived for Oboe, with Viola and Cello, the oboe part of Shorts could be played by any other melody instrument that can match the written range.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Phillip Pennington Harris. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Phillip Pennington Harris has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.