Home > Solo instrument + piano > Eternal Source of Light Divine

Eternal Source of Light Divine

G.F. Handel
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
6 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument + piano (Trumpet in Bb)
Instrumental parts

Eternal Source of Light Divine was written by Handel as part of his Ode to the Birthday of St Anne. It is a beautifully exquisite & almost heavenly work that lasts approximately 6 minutes. Handel originally wrote it for counter-tenor or tenor with solo trumpet. I have arranged this stunning work for solo trumpet with accompanying organ - particularly useful for those who want to play it for recitals/weddings/concerts but for whatever reason booking a singer isn't an option. It involves some of the original vocal lines being transferred to the trumpet part. I have recently performed this version and it works very well - don't let the absence of a singer put you off performing this wonderful work!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Samuel Ewens. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Samuel Ewens has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.