Trio Sonata

Full details...
page one of Trio Sonata

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Trio Sonata was written in 2010 and is for flute, cello and piano. It has three movements: Introduction and Allegretto, Scherzo and Adagio.

The form ’Trio Sonata’ stems from the Baroque period, where the ensemble consisted of two ’melody’ instruments, for example, two violins or viols, and a bass continue consisting usually of cello or bass viol and keyboard or a member of the lute family. I wanted to bring the form into the 21st Century by writing for the three instruments as equals, rather than two melody instruments with accompaniment.

The first movement is essentially in sonata form with a slow introduction. The development section includes solo cadenzas for the flute and cello. The second is a very fast Scherzo containing many sudden contrasts of dynamic, including loud interruptions, initially from the piano. The movement ends with a solo cadenza for the piano and leads without a break into the final movement. This is an Adagio and develops some of the material previously heard.

This piece was written for Polina Burdukova.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
15 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Trio Sonata

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...