Passacaglia in G Minor for String Orchestra or String Sextet (3 Vln, Vla, Vc, Cb)

Georg Frideric Handel
Full details...
page one of Passacaglia in G Minor for String Orchestra or String Sextet (3 Vln, Vla, Vc, Cb)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Handels's famous Passacaglia (the last movement from his Suite in G minor for Keyboard, HMV 432) is here arranged for string sextet (3 violins, viola, cello, and bass) or string orchestra. I had arranged this piece in the past for string quartet, and string quintet, and now have a version written for the Southwest High School String Sextet in El Centro, California (3 violins, viola, cello, and bass). The piece is equally playable by a string orchestra, hence its inclusion in my catalog in the orchestra category. It should be noted that this arrangement is quite democratic, and all sections have equally challenging parts. The third violin is an equal and integral part. It is NOT a duplicate of the viola and is every bit as challenging as the other parts. It is recommended that EACH violin part have strong players associated with it, e.g., ranking strength of playing by 12 violins (1 being strongest, and 12 being weakest), first violins should be players 1, 4, 7, and 10; second violins should have players 2, 5, 8, and 11; and third violin should have players 3, 6, 9, and 12.

Score ID
Georg Frideric Handel
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
7 minutes
String orchestra
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Passacaglia in G Minor for String Orchestra or String Sextet (3 Vln, Vla, Vc, Cb)

Reviews of Passacaglia in G Minor for String Orchestra or String Sextet (3 Vln, Vla, Vc, Cb)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...