Home > Solo instrument > Gavotte I from Cello Suite 6 BWV 1012 - concert version

Gavotte I from Cello Suite 6 BWV 1012 - concert version

Johann Sebastian Bach
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument (Acoustic Guitar [notation])
Instrumental parts
Not available

This transcription uses a low D tuning of the sixth string. This allows the chord voicing to more thoroughly reflect the original Bach work for solo cello, and also makes use of the special acoustic response of the guitar when it is tuned this way. See also our transcription of the Gavotte II and the Sarabande as well.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Jeffrey Goodman. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Jeffrey Goodman has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.