Home > Solo instrument > Gavotte I from Cello Suite 6 - for the advanced player

Gavotte I from Cello Suite 6 - for the advanced player

Johann Sebastian Bach
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument (Acoustic Guitar [notation])
Instrumental parts
Not available

This version is for the advanced player - it is a bit more difficult than the intermediate version, and not as hard as the concert version. It uses a standard tuning, with the 6th string tuned to E. The chord voicing and the fingering are all chosen for the most musically compelling effect, and hence are sometimes rather difficult. Be sure to check out the Gavotte II and the Sarabande transcribed from the 6th Cello Suite of Bach.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Jeffrey Goodman. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Jeffrey Goodman has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.