Two Brazilian Dances for Wind Quintet

Full details...
page one of Two Brazilian Dances for Wind Quintet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Note: This score is at sounding pitch. Parts available upon request.

Two Brazilian Dances for Wind Quintet (8:00):
I. Bossa Nova quase uma Passacaglia (3:35)
II. Samba Contrapont?stica (4:20)

Commentary by Left Brain vs. Right Brain: LB: "Two Brazilian Dances for Wind Quintet (Duas Dan?as Brasileiras, in Portuguese) are a Bossa Nova and a Samba, with many other elements. Bossa Nova quase uma Passacaglia is built upon a repeated 4-bar chord progression and bass figure. A sultry 4-bar motif is varied and grows into a 16-bar theme, as the music evolves into almost a sonata movement." RB: "The exotic low ranges of flute and oboe made me wonder: how low can they go? Did you know that Bossa Nova was the mother of Casanova?" LB: "No, the Bossa Nova evolved from the Samba in the 1950s. Samba Contrapont?stica is a lively rondo, with a fugue as a central development section." RB: "A fugue in a samba! Who'd 'a' thunk it? O Carnaval do Brasil em miniatura – meets the concert hall."

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
8 minutes
Wind quintet
World music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Two Brazilian Dances for Wind Quintet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...