Home > Solo instrument + piano > Twisted Fairground

Twisted Fairground

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
11 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument + piano (Solo Viola)
Instrumental parts

This piece �Twisted Fairground� is intended to represent a visit to a very �unusual� fairground. The piece is split into seven different movements, each representing a different ride or adventure. These are: the Entry, Merry-go-round, Roller Coaster, Tea Cups, Dodgems, Haunted House and the Exit. As many or as few of these movements can be played and the can also technically be performed in any order. All movements are very rhythmic and energetic throughout and the Piano plays the accompanying part in most movements with quite repetitive bass patterns whilst the Viola adds contrast with some quite uncompromising motifs and melodies.

�Warning: This trip is not ideal for people who would normally expect a relaxing day out �" Enter at your own risk!�

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Dan Phelps. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Dan Phelps has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.