Home > String orchestra > Serenade for String Orchestra, Op.37 by Gerald Manning

Serenade for String Orchestra, Op.37 by Gerald Manning

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
27 minutes
Classical music
String orchestra
Instrumental parts
Related scores
MANNING, G. Wind Quintet No.1,Op.36 in E Flat Major for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon and Horn, MANNING, G. - Three Shakespearian Sonnets - Op.30 - for Tenor, Horn & Strings, MANNING, G. - The Legend of St. George, Op.25 - Tone Poem for Chorus & Orchestra, MANNING, G. - Symphony No.1 in F sharp Major, Op.14, MANNING, G. - Symphony No. 2 in C minor - Sancti Benedicti Op.28, MANNING, G. - Symphonic Poem - The Legend of Knockgrafton, Op.33 - for Vioces and Orchestra, MANNING, G. - Symphonic Poem - Herculaneum, Op.13 - for orchestra & chorus, MANNING, G. - String Quartet, No.1 in A minor, Op 12.- 2nd movement, MANNING, G. - String Quartet, No.1 in A minor - Op.12 - 1st Movement, MANNING, G. - String Quartet No.1 in A minor, Op.12 - 3rd Movement, MANNING, G. - Sonata No.1 for Viola & Piano, Op.10 - in four movements - complete, MANNING, G. - Sonata for Violin & Piano, Op.9 - in three movements complete, MANNING, G. - Romance with Double Bass - Opera Buffa in One Act & 5 Scenes. Op.26 - English Libretto by Gerald Manning after the short story by Anton Chekhov - Scenes 1,2,3, MANNING, G. - Romance with Double Bass - Opera Buffa in One Act & 5 Scenes, Op.26 - English Libretto by Gerald Manning after the short story by Anton Chekhov - Scenes - 4,5, MANNING, G. - Romance in A minor for Viola & Orchestra, Op.8, MANNING, G.Concertino for Violin & Piano Op.2, MANNING, G - Symphony No.3 in D major, Op.34, MANNING, G. - Perpetuum Mobile for Violin & Piano Op.2, MANNING, G. - Lament in G minor for String Orchestra Op.4, MANNING, G. - Divertissement for Oboe Violin & Viola Op.1, MANNING, G. - Canzonetta for Violin & Piano Op.2, MANNING, G. - Arthurian Romances - 4 Symphonic Tableau for Orchestra Op.3, MANNING, G. - A Lament: O World! O life! O time! Op.11 - for Tenor & String Quartet, MANNING, G. - 'If It Should Be' Op.29 - for Soprano & String Quartet, MANNING, G - Concerto for Viola & Orchestra, Op.31, MANNING, G - String Quartet No.2 in B flat Major, Op.32 and MANNING, G - String Quartet No.3 in G minor, Op.35

My Serenade for String Orchestra, Op. 37 is an instrumental composition in four movements the form of which in the generic evolution of the genre is considered somewhere between a Suite and a Symphony. It is of a light and romantic nature, casual, and without too many overly dramatic moments, and concentrates on the form and formal structure of each of its four movements. The first movement Praeludium (from the Latin meaning �something played before�) is in binary form: a musical structure consisting of two parts or sections. Beginning in C major the first section as is common in binary form modulates to the related second section dominant key of G major, which is considerably longer than the first section because other related keys are explored before the return to the tonic key to give the work more interest: this second section is then repeated before the recapitulation gives closure to the first movement. From the Italian I have chosen the term Elegia for my second movement using the relative A minor of the principal key in the first movement. Renaissance, composers often wrote an elegy or déploration on the death of a colleague or teacher. In a series of variations related keys are explored before the return of A minor. In the third movement Scherzo (It,. �Joke� game�), the dark overtones of the preceding movement are lessened considerably with alternating rhythmic patterns and time signatures of 3/8 and 3/4. The final movement is a Rondeau using the spelling from the French quite intentionally as I wish to underline the juxtaposition between the single-stanza poem of four couplets as used by the poet-composers of troubadours and trouvères and at the same time writing this movement in one of the fundamental forms in music - rondo form. It can be represented as ABACA and was used in Classical instrumental works where it became typical for the last movement of a multi-movement work. It combines binary, ternary and rondo elements.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Gerald Manning. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.