Lina-Walzer (Bass Clef)

Adam Darr
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
9 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument (Zither)
Instrumental parts
Not available

The Lina-Walzer was published by P. Ed. Hoenes around February 1866. Darr first mentions the work in a letter to Hoenes in November of 1865. "Lina" was probably Carolina Lierheimer, the stonemason widow to whom Darr was believed to have been engaged to be married. However, it may also have been the nickname of Magdalena the daughter of Carolina and Darr's prized zither student. The daughter was supposed to be the dedicatee. The workis certainly one of Darr' better zither compositions. It is definitely one of Darr's Concert Waltzes. And Darr knew how to write dance music. In his youth he was trained to be a city musician, which means that he was certified to play music for municipal events such as dances, parties, and festivals.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Joseph R. Costello. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Joseph R. Costello has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.