Home > Duet > The Swan, from Carnival of the Animals: arranged for two pianos

The Swan, from Carnival of the Animals: arranged for two pianos

Camille Saint-Saens
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

This famous jewel was the only movement from the "Carnival of the Animals" that the composer allowed to be published in his lifetime. The Swan became famous in its orchestral version for cello and two pianos - the pianos representing the water, the cello playing the swan itself. For lovers of music for two pianos there can never be a big enough variety of things to play, and over the years I have made many arrangements and transcriptions. This version, with the melody surrounded by pianistic ripples of sound, is based on Godowsky�s labyrinthine paraphrase for solo piano. It would make an excellent encore.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by John Gough. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com John Gough has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.