Full details...
page one of Reflections

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Called �Reflections�, the piece was designed to reflect differently on both the harmonic and melodic treatments of the same mode. The clearest iteration of the original mode occurs at C, with the iteration of the complement occurring just before E. When composing this piece, I wanted to emphasise contrast and equally, similarities between each part of the piece. That is, when considering a mode and its complement, I wanted to think about the different characteristics of each and thus realise them by different harmonic and melodic treatment. The motif introduced in the first few bars outlines the progression of the rest of the piece, with the suspended second being a primary focus for many of the other �sections� and parts. It can be loosely considered in sonata form; the different �sections� joining together to form a perceived exposition, development and recapitulation, with letter D forming the pinnacle of the development.

This piece is a response to the emphasis on particular intervals heard in Debussy and the focus on melodic material moving across hands seen in Liszt�s virtuosic piano music. The divide between the two hands is quite prominent; the melody occurs sporadically in both but in the beginning and ending, the left hand takes a very accompanimental role, with all melodic interest in the right hand. This divide emphasises the contrasting ideas and the apparent shift of emphasis when it does actually occur.

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
5 minutes
Solo instrument (Piano)
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Reflections

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...