Full details...
page one of Persephone

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details


Persephone is a dramatic piece for solo piano composed between the years 2003 and 2011, and is based on the Greek myth of the goddess Persephone, her mother Demeter, and the god of the Underworld, Hades. I deviate slightly from the various retellings of the story, which readers are encouraged to examine on their own. I envision more of a struggle between Demeter and Hades, and I also envision Demeter winning total freedom for Persephone. Indeed, this is an especially programmatic work; each section in the music is meant to evoke some part of the Persephone myth, and there are several motifs that function in the same way. The list of sections is as follows:

Mm. 1—35: Hades calls out to Persephone and subsequently kidnaps her.

Mm. 36—76: Helios the sun god witnessed the event and tells Demeter what happened.

Mm. 77—105: Demeter flies into a rage and frantically begins to look for Persephone.

Mm. 106—112: Demeter is resolved to find her daughter at any cost.

Mm. 113—138: Hecate leads Demeter into the Underworld.

Mm. 139—155: Demeter sees Persephone from afar, in chains. She gets a glimpse of Hades before getting close enough to confront him.

Mm. 156—191: Demeter clashes with Hades and overcomes his power. The chains of Persephone break.

Mm. 192—223: Demeter leads Persephone back to the earth.

Mm. 224—end: The gates of Olympus open wide to welcome the two goddesses back.

The story of Persephone is a myth and is not meant to be taken at face value; it is meant to be applied to personal situations. The listener and performer are invited to interpret this immortal story in a way that will be symbolic and meaningful for them.

Please note that pedal indications and some other articulations have been kept to a minimum so as not to interfere with the performer's interpretation. I, however, tend to use the pedal generously and play the piece quite legato. Tempo markings are also to be used only as a general guide.

Stephen Pompa Hagerstown, MD 2011

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
8 minutes
Solo instrument (Solo)
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Persephone

Reviews of Persephone

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...