1st move. Symphony No.1

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
11 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores
1st move. Intrada - Clarinet Concerto in E flat, Big Brother - Little Brother, What might have been, The Final Dance, Annie - The 5 Sisters? Suite, A Latin Lollipop No.3 for flute and piano, Lost Souls - piano, String Quartet No. 1 (The Truth?), Chromatic Rag for brass quintet, Cat Suite 6th Mov. Dance of the Furry Fred, Chromatic Rag, Round the Hornpipe for Brass quintet, A latin Lollipop No2 (The sequel), Cat Suite 5th Mov. Ebony' Prelude and Dance, Air in G for flute and piano, Cat Suite 4th Mov. Tigger's Danza, Edna - The 5 Sisters? Suite, Hilda - The 5 Sisters? Suite, Sinfonietta for Strings No. 2 - 3rd Movement, A Latin Lollipop, Sinfonietta for Strings No.2 - 2nd Movement, Piano Concerto 1st movement - Allegro molto marcato, Piano Concerto 2nd Movement - Andante molto Espress, 2nd move. Symphony No.1, Jesu, joy of man's desiring for brass quintet, Cat Suite 2nd Mov. Lenin's Aria, Contest March The Titan, Sinfonietta for Strings No.2 - 1st movement, Piano Concerto 3rd movement - Allegro Vivo, The Souths most Southern Land, Fantasia for Horn and Strings, Ushkadara for brass quintet, Cat suite - 1st Mov. Tasha's Tarantella, Cat Suite 7th Mov. Tango de Trotski, Cat Suite 3rd Mov. Dance of the Tupenny Cat, 3rd move. Symphony No.1, Trepak for brass quintet, Fanfare - 10 Base pairs for brass quintet, Ena - The 5 Sisters? Suite, 4th move. Symphony No.1, Clarinet variations on Plaisir d'amore, 3rd move. Variations on a Celtic Theme - Clarinet concerto in Eflat, Florrie - The 5 Sisters? Suite, 2nd Move. Codex ab Intra - Clarinet Concerto in Eflat and Air in G for 'cello and piano

Ist movement of my 1st symphony,(originally written in 1974) I could go on about expressing the despair of the modern age, the hope and happiness of the giococso middle section spiralling back down to the despair and sadness of the opening section at the end - but I won't 'cause its just a piece of music to listen to - let me know what you think, Ian

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Ian Cartwright. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Ian Cartwright has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.