Between Snow and Ice

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
7 minutes
Classical music
Trio (Strings)
Instrumental parts

Between Snow and Ice is a string trio based on two related ideas I found in New Scientist magazine. The first was a beautiful series of pictures of various types of snowflakes, and the other was a graph showing the effects of freezing water to very low temperatures and the snowflake-like patterns that produced.

The piece is in a rough sonata form, with the freezing theme being the first subject and the snowflakes the second subject. They are related both scientifically and musically as the dominant interval is a 6th (snowflakes have six sides as any fule kno).

The data from the graph was used to generate most of the notes for the first subject, which is in Passacaglia form. The second subject is simply me playing around with various forms of sixes and threes.

Christine Caulfield January 2009

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Christine Caulfield. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Christine Caulfield has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.