Full details...
page one of Sonatina

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This work was first performed at The Friends Meeting House, Brighton 14/02/2009 by Adam Swain. Adam also played it later that year at Chichester University 06/03/09.

This work was composed in 1989. The opening movement’s harmonic texture is made up of predominately major 7ths. There are four contrasting ideas, although ideas two and three are related. The movement progresses with the development of the first three ideas but the fourth, an obstinate rhythm always on the same 7th, stays unchanged throughout the movement. The last chord finds a sort of resolution by distributing the notes of this 7th in a new way.

The second movement in contrast to the first is composed harmonically entirely of Major thirds. The melodic line includes a huge leap that should be felt as the overall flow of the melody. Towards the end this leap takes on a different characteristic cutting the melodic line off in mid flow.

The third movement returns to the world of the first movement being based on harmonic major 7ths. This movement is probably the most conventional of the three and is a highly rhythmical finale. Coming back to it after so many years I can see the influence of Stravinsky and Tippett.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
Solo instrument (Piano)
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Sonatina

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...