Five Pieces for Wind Instruments - Score and Parts

Full details...
page one of Five Pieces for Wind Instruments - Score and Parts

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Five Pieces for Wind Instruments, Paul Burnell, composed 2002, revised 2011

Approximate durations:

1. 2:00 2. 4:00 3. 4:25 4. 2:40 5. 3:45

Total duration 17:00

It is not necessary to perform all 5 movements.


Flute (doubling Piccolo in the 1st and 5th movements) Oboe Clarinet in B flat Alto Saxophone Bass Clarinet Bassoon Trumpet in B flat Horn in F Trombone

Transposing instruments are shown transposed in the score. Sympathetic instrument doublings and/or substitutions are permissible. Unless otherwise indicated all cresc. and dim. hairpin marks move the dynamic up or down one grade.

Programme note:

Five Pieces for Wind Instruments was written for The Southwark Consorts of Winds - The Ancient and Modern Consort.

Each of the five movements subject familiar musical stereotypes to simple but rather strict processes.

The first movement is a march where the phrase lengths are gradually shortened. The second movement presents a simple melody imitated by other instruments. The middle movement, which is like a hinge in the overall structure, is a canon - where the imitation is between two groups. The fourth movement is a reverie with slight but systematic changes to the sustained harmony. The fifth movement is a jig or waltz where the phrase lengths are, unlike the first movement, gradually lengthened.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
17 minutes
Large mixed ensemble
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Five Pieces for Wind Instruments - Score and Parts

Reviews of Five Pieces for Wind Instruments - Score and Parts

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...