Six Bagatelles for Wind Quintet

J. C. Clark
Full details...
page one of Six Bagatelles for Wind Quintet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

These pieces were first performed by The London Myriad Ensemble at St Luke’s Church, Brighton on 12/05/2009.

Inspired by, but not to be compared with, Ligeti’s Six Bagatelles for Wind Quintet. The first movement was composed last. One of the objectives of this movement was to end it as the very last movement ends, so by creating a feeling of return at the end of the piece. The second movement’s title Game occurred to my after composing it. The piece might be viewed as three passes, rounds or hands of some game. Each round has a different outcome. The first and second are quite similar but the third is significantly different. The third Movement uses an idea from a variation of a passacaglia for Wind Quartet that I wrote in the mid 80s. The fourth movement is composed entirely using the note D and has the curious feature that if a note were added or subtracted from the movement the title would change. The fifth movement is an arrangement of the slow movement of a Piano Sonatina I wrote in the early 90s. The introduction to the last movement condenses the harmonic structure of the ensuing allegro into a few block chords. As mentioned before the end of this final Allegro is the same as the end of the first movement but there is a twist. At the very end there is a phrase from the Adagio, as if it has spilled out from its designated place.

Score ID
J. C. Clark
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
13 minutes
Wind quintet
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Six Bagatelles for Wind Quintet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...