Full details...
page one of Strata

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This piece was composed for Steve Dummer’s group Talkestra using the same orchestration as that for Stravinsky’s A Soldier’s Tale. It was first performed by Talkestra at St Gabriel’s Church, Pimlico, London on 23/01/2010 and later that year at The Friends Meeting House, Brighton on 25/04/2010.

In this piece each instrument has its own music and only plays that music. The clarinet only ever plays its music, the Bassoon only its music etc. The side drum does not have its own music but just punctuates the music at certain key structural points. The music starts with alternating pairs of instruments. As there are six instruments there are 15 possible combinations. The combinations are arranged so that no instrument plays consecutively. Each instrument starts its music from where it last left off. Gradually the length of time each pair play becomes shorter, in other words the changes between the pairs becomes quicker. When the pairs are changing very quickly all six instruments play simultaneously as if the changing pairings have been accelerating to this moment. After this section the instruments play an irregular rhythmical unison but to the notes of their music. The long dissonant chord that ends this section is the climax of the work. There now follows a passage where the work unwinds. In this passage each instruments music, with the exception of the clarinet, is transformed into a slow triplet form of the music. The clarinet music, being slow enough to span the duration of the triplet rhythms, stays the same.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
Large mixed ensemble
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Strata

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...