Concerto for bassoon and string orchestra

J. C. Clark November 1997 Revised 2008
Full details...
page one of Concerto for bassoon and string orchestra

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This work was first performed by Ian Glen with The Musicians of All Saints at The All Saints Centre, Lewes on 03/07/10

This work is part of a long term project to write a concerto for every instrument of the orchestra. The concerto was originally written in 1997 but when Ian said that he would perform it I got cold feet and started revising it heavily. The first movement was shortened, a slow movement was scrapped and a completely new last movement was composed. Ian was disappointed that the concerto had no slow movement so I composed a new one. Ian was then quite insistent that there should be a cadenza. This was added less that a month before this premier.

The first movement starts with ever increasing large intervals on the bassoon. The cellos then take up this idea while the bassoon presents a second idea (although actually related to the first). This is then in turn taken up by the violas while the bassoon presents a third idea. This process continues until five ideas (six if you count the pizzicato comments from the double basses) are presented simultaneously. The movement then quickly unwinds. This movement has effectively introduced the material that the rest of the Concerto is built on.

The second movement is a scherzo in ternary form. The third movement is the slow movement. It is a fugue for the Bassoon, solo violin and solo cello framed with hushed unfolding massed string chords. The fourth movement is a gigue which owes more than a little to the gigue from Bach’s cello suite No. 2. The fifth movement is also a fugue but this time using the full orchestra. The movement then unwinds giving way to the cadenza and a final reprise of the opening material. A brand new rhythmical figure on a seventh keeps interrupting the music finally bringing the work to its conclusion.

Score ID
J. C. Clark November 1997 Revised 2008
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
22 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Concerto for bassoon and string orchestra

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...