Act 1 The Descent of Inanna

Full details...
page one of Act 1 The Descent of Inanna

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Descent of Inanna

Act One – The Light – Inanna’s worldly life.

Inanna the girl child is joyful and nurturing. She discovers her talents and handles unwelcome visitors. As she matures she awakens sexually and is courted, seduced and married. She becomes head of state and has two children. Nothing it seems can stop her personal, social and political ascendancy. Yet behind this supreme rise lurk signs that all is not well. Geshtinanna foresees a ‘deep dividing’. Inanna’s unstoppable powers will be tested to the limit. As the first act closes we are left with a sense of foreboding as the celebrations bring down the curtain on the first act.

Act Two – The Dark – Inanna’s soul life.

Inanna separates from all she knows and encounters the essence of herself in the Netherworld. She surrenders the symbols of her worldly life and bares her soul to a force she cannot control. She is given the ‘eyes of death’ and is murdered by the Queen of the Netherworld – her dark sister Ereshkigal. Yet behind this supreme sacrifice lie signs that all will be well again. She is rescued and revived by the saliva of two Holy Flies. But to return to the upper world she must send a replacement to the great below. She chooses her husband. Terrified he tries to escape, the demons are about to catch and kill him when Geshtinanna, who has seen it all before, offers to be killed in his place. This shape-shifting opens Inanna’s heart and she is filled with remorse. She decrees the curse shall be shared six months each. It’s a balancing act that leaves no-one condemned forever to the isolation of a soulless life in the Netherworld, no one that is, except Ereshkigal.

Score ID
Year of composition
Lyn Gambles
Difficult (Grades 7+)
12 minutes
Large mixed ensemble
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Act 1 The Descent of Inanna

Reviews of Act 1 The Descent of Inanna

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...