Full details...
page one of T O C C A T A

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The piece has been written in a typical postmodern style, which expresses the composer’s fascination with baroque styles, ostinato rhythms and forms like the fugue. The entire composition is based on just one short motive that is developed throughout the piece and interestingly becomes the harmonic foundation in both the horizontal and vertical lines. The Toccata consists of six sections: Toccata I, Fugue, Prelude I, Giga, Prelude II and Toccata II (Finale), all implied within the score. The composer further develops the texture of the score by calling for the performers to play secondary instruments such as piccolo, English horn and bass clarinet. In terms of tonality, the composer cleverly manipulates the harmony to shift from tonal to atonal by using major/minor chord clashes. To date, the composer has enjoyed great success writing for various instrumental combinations including wind ensembles, flute ensembles and flute solos with other instrumental accompaniments. Having penned a great number of arrangements of his own compositions and borrowed music transcribed for woodwind quintet, this piece is the composer’s first original composition for this type of ensemble.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
9 minutes
Wind quartet
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of T O C C A T A

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...