Violin concerto movement after Vivaldi

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
Classical music
String orchestra
Instrumental parts
Not available

This is my submission for the Techniques of Composition II Finals Paper 1999 (Oxford). The first ten bars are by Vivaldi - the rest is by me in all parts, the opening providing the thematic and motivic basis. I later found my completed movement to be over thirty bars longer than the original! I think I drift away from a Vivaldian style in places, and there are a couple of unorthodox points (solos for Violin II and Viola!). This score is optimised for printing, hence the harpsichord sounds only where I have notated it specifically. I play along usually!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Mark Evans. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Mark Evans has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.