Suite from"The Tale of the Tsar Saltan" Op. 57 for Brass Band

for Brass Band

N. Rimsky-Korsakoff (1844-1908) arr. John Srutowski
Full details...
page one of Suite from"The Tale of the Tsar Saltan" Op. 57 for Brass Band

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This suite contains "The Flight of the Bumblebee" as the third movement, arranged not as a typical solo or soli with accompaniment, but for full ensemble as in the orchestra, with ample cues so everyone can give it a go for a few bars. The other movements are complete as in the original concert suite Korsakoff drew from the opera. The brass band displays the composer’s harmonic genius particularly well; while the work is certainly romantic overall, the harmony does look forward to the 20th century, the opera being composed at its cusp, e.g. the long pedal sequences in the second movement. Korsakoff the bandmaster shines through in several places in this, his diatonic opera (Le Coq d’Or his chromatic one), and the arrangement preserves the voicing, and spirit, of the original as much as possible.

Score ID
N. Rimsky-Korsakoff (1844-1908) arr. John Srutowski
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
20 minutes
Brass band
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Suite from"The Tale of the Tsar Saltan" Op. 57 for Brass Band

Reviews of Suite from"The Tale of the Tsar Saltan" Op. 57 for Brass Band

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...