PRB Piano Series: The Cat Fugue

The Cat Fugue

Full details...
page one of PRB Piano Series: The Cat Fugue

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

While Scarlatti is known for his 600 or so keyboard sonatas, he also left behind 5 Fugues, by far the best known of which is the ’Cat Fugue’. The somewhat strange subject was allegedly suggested to the composer by his pet cat, Pulcinella, walking across the keys of the instrument - apparently it was fond of doing this, and hearing the sounds it created!

The contrapuntal writing is far less strict than Bach, and relates more to that of Handel, in his keyboard suites.

The piece would make an interesting alternative to a Prelude and Fugue (as it is somewhat longer), and is set as part of the Trinity Guildhall Advanced Certificate - essentially a post-Grade 8 exam, and useful as a bridge to the diploma suit (A/L/FTCL).

Score ID
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Solo instrument (Piano)
Classical music
Related scores

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for PRB Piano Series: The Cat Fugue

Reviews of PRB Piano Series: The Cat Fugue

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...