Microcosms for Alto Saxophone and Piano

Sy Brandon
Full details...
page one of Microcosms for Alto Saxophone and Piano

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Microcosms for Alto Saxophone and Piano (2007) is an adaptation of a 1973 composition for saxophone alone called Micro Pieces. It is dedicated to Stacy Wilson. The main title reflects the brevity of the movements as well as the programmatic representation of small models of a larger concept.

I. Nebulae – This movement is a microcosm of the universe. Nebulae are clusters of dust and gas that reflect light and are the basic elements of the universe.

II. Puck – Puck’s early associations are with the devil, but Shakespeare made him more fairy-like. This movement is a microcosm of the devilish, trick-playing side of human nature.

III. Apiary – This movement represents the busyness of a beehive and is a microcosm of the hectic pace of 21st century life.

IV. Hiroshima – This movement represents the destruction of lives and property caused by the dropping of the atomic bomb on Hiroshima. It is a microcosm of the kind of inhumanity that our species is capable of inflicting upon one another.

V. Charlie Chaplin – Another side of human nature is our need to laugh. Charlie Chaplin is a microcosm of both the witty side and slapstick side of humor.

VI. Tempest – This movement is a microcosm of the fickleness of Mother Nature that unleashes its power of destruction and leaves as quickly as it comes.

VII. Four A.M. – Imagine someone wandering alone in the streets of a big city at this time of the morning. This scene is a microcosm of the part of human nature that often feels isolated.

VIII. March of the Ants – This march is both serious and whimsical at the same time. The whimsical is represented by one imagining ants marching to this music. The seriousness is the industrious and tenacity of ants that is a microcosm of this side of human nature.

Score ID
Sy Brandon
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
Solo Alto Saxophone + piano
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Microcosms for Alto Saxophone and Piano

Reviews of Microcosms for Alto Saxophone and Piano

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...